Work Experience at The PEA Awards

Find out how I got on when I was given an opportunity to work at an award show.

In November 2014, I got the opportunity to be a runner for 2 days at The PEA Awards, run by Sindica Productions. During the 2 days I had a number of roles which included set design, handing out gifts to the guests and buying particular items that would be involved in the show. It was a great experience and enjoyed every minute of it. The 2 days were both very long and tiring but it was great to meet new people and get some experience with being a runner.

The first day was mostly helping out with set design and getting as much as possible done before the award ceremony the next night. During this day I helped move the stage to the right position which is where the awards would be handed out. I also helped out finding local shops that may have some organic food or gifts and who would be happy to donate them. I also picked up any items that the crew needed for the award ceremony such as envelopes and CD’s. The last thing I had to do was help put all the food and drink behind the bar ready for tomorrow when all the guests would arrive. During this day I got an impression into what sort of jobs runners may be asked to do, so I am glad that I have already had the opportunity to do so.

The second day was perhaps the longest day and where most of the jobs came from. I started the day by picking up a few last minute items that again were used for the award ceremony. During the day I carried on helping out with set as there were only a couple of hours until the ceremony so it was essential that everyone worked as efficiently as possible to get everything sorted out. I then helped out with catering department where I help lay out the food and the organic juice which would be handed to the guests. When the guests arrived myself and a couple of others handed out juice to all the guests as they entered the ceremony. We were the first to greet the guests so it was essential that we made them feel welcome at the ceremony. During the ceremony I was assigned the task of interacting with the winners to find out if they would be interested in a short interview after the ceremony to talk about their award. This was a lovely part of the day as it meant I could find out a bit more about the winners and what impressive work they did to help the environment. I ended the day by handing out dessert to the guests and then handing out raffle tickets for those who were interested in being a part of the raffle. I met some really interesting people during the day and even though it was a very tiring day it was such a great opportunity and I enjoyed every aspect of it.

Leave a comment